The foods I eat…..and why I eat them…..

Eating “different” foods then my co-workers do on a daily basis gets quite a bit of attention.  My morning breakfast ritual at work receives so many questions and comments from: “that is a healthy breakfast”,  ” I wish I had time to eat healthy like you”. “Is eggs everyday good for your cholesterol?”. Even before I was doing the Paleo diet my egg whites stirred into my oats used to cause a um a stir…

Being prepared and organised is key to eating “the way I eat”.    I love preparing my breakfasts that take no time at all.  Baked, boiled or microwaved eggs with salmon or ham, with a side of  spinach, balsamic dressing & some avocado – side cup of mixed berries/kiwi fruit, just delicious or left over beef/lamb/kangaroo and a nice rocket/spinach salad with brazil nuts or macadamias – so simple to prepare and bring into work.

Snacks consist of berries/nuts – sometimes chicken breast/veggies, (sweet potato included) depending on what I feel like and what training I will be doing that evening. Lunches are protein and salad/veggies or both. Lots of colours to get all the nutrients I need in my diet. 

Superfoods are my favourite kind of foods – I have always eaten a variety of fresh fruits, vegetables and enjoy them all, the Paleo diet definitely ensures I get adequate nutrients!  The key ones are: Apples, Avocado, Beans, Blueberries , Broccoli , Cinnamon , Dark Chocolate , Extra Virgin Olive Oil , Garlic , Kiwi Fruit, Onions , Oranges , Pomegranates , Pumpkin, Spinach, Green Tea, Tomatoes , Turkey , Walnuts , Wild Salmon

My favourite superfood – Blueberries are so addictive, and currently only $3.50 a punnet!  Bargain.  Blueberries are so rich in *phytonutrients that even though they are not filled with the antioxidant vitamins C and E, the still provide as much antioxidant protection to the body as 1,733 IU of vitamin E and more than 1200 milligrams of vitamin C.  Recent studies have shown that blueberries seemed to slow and even reverse many of the degenerative diseases that are associated with the aging of the brain, including dementia and Alzheimer’s disease.  Which is great news (especially with family history of Alzheimer’s)!

Second favourite superfood – Did someone say chocolate?  I love chocolate. I enjoy eating good quality dark chocolate.  Either mixed with goji berries, coconut or even chilli, I love it and find it goes well with an evening cup of tea.   The lastest sensation is one I found in the deli in Newtown made from coconut oil, agave nectar and cacao. Oh MY GOD, delicious.

I eat healthy clean food so that my body (machine) is fuelled adequately to remain fit, healthy and energised.  Put in great healthy food and your body will respond the same way. Fill it with overprocessed crap, you will feel, like CRAP! I don’t get cravings anymore, I may “fancy” something but I don’t get the “sugar frenzy” attacks, I no longer get the insulin high and low’s from eating refined carbohydrates.

Tracking my food, I can ensure I get adequate nutrients and vitamins the body requires.  Having had recent tests I have normal levels (calcium, magnesium and potassium, vitamin D) loving bone broths, such a great way to get nutrients! Now I know why my dog used to go MAD for bones… all that great marrow!! Soups with bone broth, vegetables, meats …. eggs, fish, fruits, nuts/seeds… food for champions.  

**Flavonols are plant compounds with potent antioxidant properties. Cocoa beans, along with red wine, tea, cranberries, and other fruits, contain large amounts of flavonols. Research is now suggesting that the flavonols in chocolate are responsible for the ability to maintain healthy blood pressure, promote blood flow, and promote heart health.   Eat in moderation of course.

*Phytonutrients are nutrients derived from plant material that have been shown to be necessary for sustaining human life. Phytochemicals are non-nutritive plant chemicals that contain protective, disease-preventing, compounds. Their role in plants is to protect plants from disease, injuries, insects, drought, excessive heat, ultraviolet rays, and poisons or pollutants in the air or soil. They form part of the plants immune system.

Research has shown that phytonutrients help the body cells communicate with each other more efficiently, prevent mutations at the cellular level, prevent the proliferation of cancer cells, and there is still much more that we are learning about the powers of phytonutrients everyday.

** Flavonoids are polyphenolic compounds present in vegetables, fruits, berries and beverages such as tea, red wine and fruit juices, having  similar effects as antioxidants. Especially green vegetables, onions, apples, berries and tea are rich sources of  flavonoids.

One response to “The foods I eat…..and why I eat them…..

  1. I’m so impressed, though have to admit I looked down your list and there were so few things I eat. But… I do realise I need to eat more of the (healthier) stuff I like!

Leave a Reply

