Common questions I get asked are……

I may not have the text book answer, but I have my answers, my experiences that I feel might help others. At the end of the day you are responsible for yourself. I listen to my gut. I learn from others. I absorb information that I feel relevant to ME. The human body has always amazed me and I continue to learn something new nearly everyday. Here are some common questions I get asked:

Q Why do you train? Feeling that sense of accomplishment. Success. Learning. Overcoming a hurdle. Adrenalin rush. Push the boundaries. Training has been something I have done since I was young. It just has been WHAT I DO. Obviously the types of training has changed throughout the years as I have challenged myself to achieve many different goals but I always get asked questions about WHY I train, which I love.

Do what you love. Ok some days I don’t love the alarm going off at 5:30am, but I do love that feeling of accomplishing a task. Standing in the shower at the gym at 7:30am feeling smashed from a session, that I love. Seeing results.

Q. How do you get motivated & stay motivated to train?

Results. Seeing changes in my body, feeling the strength after a session or the pride after smashing out a PB. Knowing that I will feel a million bucks after I leave the gym, pool or session if outdoors. Swapping that five minutes of “not feeling up to training” feeling to days of feeling on cloud 9 that I trained. I tend to do PB’s when I “don’t really feel up to the gym”! Mostly it is the mind telling you that you don’t want to train. The body can push through a lot more than you think it can. Pushing through the pain barrier(threshold), for me it is the mental barrier… I know what my body can push through, it is the mind I find takes over. Constantly challenging that barrier allows me to achieve results.

I don’t wait for motivation. Some days I am itching to get to the gym, some days I have to drag my sorry butt to the gym … adrenalin is my drug of choice. That pumped up feeling..I crave it. Makes me feel alive. Achieving things that others thought I could never achieve drives me too.

I use past achievements to guide me through current hurdles….. even if it is a different exercise or event, I use the memory to remind me that I have had doubts before and survived, achieved the task at hand, that I can do it again.

Q Why did you become a trainer?

Helping people achieve & conquor health and fitness goals, how awesome would that be?!

I became a PT nearly seven years ago now. I was living in London and having a great time travelling, experiencing new cultures and enjoying the food and drink side of things far too much, was my first time not being in “training mode”, still did the occasional swim or walk…. but no specific goals to train for. I had so many coaches throughout my sporting life from netball, basketball, swimming and even my Dad coaching me to be Karrie Webb, I have always found direction really does make a difference. I initially thought about becoming a coach (but in what.. so many sports to choose from), and still would love to coach athletes in sports nutrition one day, so I decided to do my Certificate III in Fitness to start down the path.

Guiding clients and training with them to make them realise they CAN do it, they CAN achieve, they ARE worth it and to give them the tools to keep them fit & healthy for themselves and families. Education is key.

Q. Where do I start?There is so much information out there about health, fitness, nutrition it is no wonder that people get so confused about how to get fit, how to lose weight etc, it can get all a little overwhelming.

KISS method. Keep It Simple Stupid. Works for me. Don’t take the “Stupid” part seriously. Make sure your goals are YOUR goals. Don’t feel you need to meet the expectations of others. What do YOU want to achieve?

Not over-thinking things and keeping your goals simple. What do you want to achieve? Are your goals SMART goals (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely). Anyone who knows me, knows that I am normally highly organised and plan often, from workouts to social events, massages. Why do I achieve the goals I set for myself? Yes I put in the hard work most days, but it is all down to planning it out. Being aware of what you have set for yourself and putting it down in ink HOW you will do it. Think about the following:-

*Who: Who is involved?

*What: What do I want to accomplish?

*Where: Identify a location.

*When: Establish a time frame.

*Which: Identify requirements and constraints.

*Why: Specific reasons, purpose or benefits of accomplishing the goal.

EXAMPLE: A general goal would be, “Get in shape.” But a specific goal would say, “Join a gym and workout 3 days a week.”

Just like you would any work or home project, plan out your nutrition and fitness, be flexible and work out your options, how often you can train, what days, shopping days etc. You wouldn’t go into a bank meeting or a work presentation without doing some prep/planning first would you? Why treat your body any different?

Don’t get caught up in FAD diets/exercise gadgets! There is no quick fix to get fit or lean. You have to put in the hard work to reap the benefits. Yes, hard work. You have to train, push yourself out of your comfort zone. If you keep doing the same things, you will get the same results. Just because you haven’t achieved the goals you wanted to in the past, dosen’t mean you still cannot achieve them. Fall down seven times, get up eight.

Q How much protein do you eat daily?

Brain cells, muscle, skin, hair and nails are just some of the body parts that are protein-based. Proteins are digested to release amino acids. In the body the amino acids are used to make new proteins, converted into hormones such as adrenalin or used as an energy source.

Digestion of proteins
A protein-rich food, such as meat, is broken down into individual proteins by the gastric juices in the stomach. Pancreatic enzymes released into the first portion of the small intestine (duodenum) split the proteins into their separate amino acids. The amino acids are absorbed by the small finger-like projections (villi) lining the intestine walls, and taken to the liver via the bloodstream.

How amino acids are used
The human body uses amino acids in three main ways:

  • Protein synthesis– new proteins are created constantly. For example, as old, dead cells are sloughed off the skin surface, new ones are pushed up to replace them.
  • Precursors of other compounds– a range of substances are created using amino acids: for example, the brain chemical (neurotransmitter) serotonin and the ‘fight or flight’ chemical adrenalin.

RDI’s for protein are around 0.75g/kg for adult women, 0.84/kg for adult men, 1g/kg for pregnant and breastfeeding women, and for men and women over 70 years.

The question most people want to know is when you strength/excessively train do you NEED more protein than the RDI? Higher dosages have produced more strength gains than control groups and less muscle wasting in endurance exercise or rigorous strength training. But these are people who strength train 4 times per week and/or participate in aerobic exercise sessions lasting 60 to 90 minutes three times a week.

The body dosen’t store protein.

Research shows that even on RDI of protein strength trainers built muscle as well as those on twice the amount (1). This is because the protein utilization increased in efficiency and exemplifies on how the body adapts to what is available.

So how much protein do I eat on a daily basis? I eat between 1.0 & 1.4g/kg depending on my training. I find my body adapts on around 1.2-1.4g/kg – making that between 86 – 100g protein a day.

Protein comes from: beef, chicken, turkey and fish, eggs

I don’t eat every two hours either. Amino acids are still being released into the bloodstream for up to 6hours after ingesting up to 50gms protein… I ensure I have good mix of macronutrients including healthy fats to keep me full.

Q. How do you get your calcium if you don’t eat dairy.

I have always had an intolerance with milk and not because I am asthmatic. Deciding to eliminate dairy from my diet a month ago, I have been asked how else I get my calcium. Not from drinking pasturised milk. Pasturised milk destroys active enzymes, kills beneficial bacteria and dramatically reduces the vitamin content. I actually get MORE calcium from the products below than I ever did with dairy, I eat the foods below daily.

  • Sesame seeds, Flax seeds
  • Almonds, brazil nuts, walnuts, pecans
  • Green leafy vegetables i.e. spinach and broccoli
  • Salmon, sardines

The variety of nutrients I receive from eating the above, not just calcium, help keep my body healthier too. Just eating/drinking calcium won’t help prevent bone density reduction/osteoporosis risks – remember bone is a living tissue. Like muscle, bone responds to loads placed on it, and to ensure adequate nutrients keep the bone tissue healthy and strong, you need to ensure it receives adequate blood flow! So drinking milk and sitting on your butt won’t reduce your risk of decreasing bone density/osteoporosis – MUSCLE CONTRACTIONS will!

1.Campbell, W. W., et al. 1995. Effects of resistance training and dietary protein intake on protein metabolism in older adults. American Journal of Physiology 268: E1143 -53.

Leave a Reply

