PB’s

Training the last week has been pretty exciting – I am feeling fitter, stronger and was challenged yesterday to do a PB on BB incline chest press, I have been building up my flat bench weight but must admit haven’t gotten back onto the incline bench to really work the upper pecs – so was up for a challenge.

I then was challenged to do 100 full body pushups.

Never challenge an Aries….
Adventurous and energetic
Pioneering and courageous
Enthusiastic and confident
Dynamic and quick-witted

 On the dark side…

Selfish and quick-tempered
Impulsive and impatient
Foolhardy and daredevil

I was feeling pretty confident with the chest press, I know I need to increase my strength for chest, so was happy to give it a crack (and hopefully  not crack any ribs doing so).    As always the gym was super packed and the incline bench was busy. I proceeded to get into some flat bench press (15kg dumbbells) and alternating with full body pushups (to get those pesky 100 done) and that felt good.  I did my sets of chest press and then alternated incline db chest press (12.5kg) with db chest flyes (10kg db) (pushups in between) – so needless to say the chest had been worked by the time the incline bench was free.

But I loved that each time I went to do pushups I felt good, the pecs were working and working goood!  I did a couple presses with the 20kg bar, added 5kgs to each side (gotta aim BIG) and then changed that too 2.5kgs each side.   Managed 4 reps at 30kgs and did the rest of the sets at 25kgs.

Next time I will do earlier in the session and have a spotter for confidence!! 

Completed 85 full body pushups – my right shoulder does not LOVE me at all. I felt good, felt strong and was pretty happy walking out of the gym – straight to the Buddha bar for the recovery process to begin!    An hour remedial massage, and I got some pec release work done and feel a million bucks today!

Leave a Reply

